Finding peace and solace in the everyday

As this year has worn on, I have felt the need to seek peace and solace in the everyday, those small moments where you stop, breathe, and notice. With the world as it is today, this is my way of coping because, in all honesty, I don’t feel that optimistic about our leaders and how they are wielding the power they have.

So, here are some of the everyday things that help keep me grounded:

  • The warmth from the early morning sun on my cheeks – the first light to touch my face.
  • Seagulls squabbling and squawking amongst the rooftops.
  • When I can wriggle my toes on our wooden decking and feel the ridges through the soles of my feet.
  • Feeling the heat of a freshly ironed sleeve through the palm of my hand.

  • Settling down to a comfortable rail journey (assuming I can get a seat 😉) and allowing my mind to drift – I love trains and believe in the adage, let the train take the strain.
  • Sinking into our shabby brown leather sofa at the end of a busy day.
  • The smooth action of my Uni-ball pen across a blank page.

  • Butterflies fluttering through the branches of our apple trees.
  • Sitting in companionship with our resident fox – me at one end, they at the other end of our garden, though I’m not keen on the poo.
  • The fine mist of drizzle on my face on a rainy day and the smell of damp earth after a downpour.
  • The sharp, pungent scent of freshly cut grass.  
  • Listening to the wind rustle through the dry leaves of our apple tree and watching the sway of our Eucalyptus.

  • Clearing books, I will not read again to create space in our overfilled bookshelves.
  • Rereading a much-loved book – it’s like meeting an old friend.
  • Uncovering old documents I can put through the printer again gives me a buzz.
  • Shredding, out-of-date bank and credit card statements –no need to hang on to these.

Finding peace, solace and joy in small moments, but the trick is to stop and notice.

These are a few of my things – what would you put on your list?

Until next time

Janice Taylor

Leave a comment