Would you do this, if someone washed up on a beach?……

It’s been just over a year since our second trip to Jamaica, and this little episode still makes me smile every time I think about it and it’s all to do with our snorkelling trip.

Three of us out of a party of six ended up washed up on the beach, okay I am exaggerating a little here. But the three of us, me, my daughter and my sister Jackie did get picked up by another boat so we could reach dry land about 40 minutes or so into our snorkelling trip.

Pittabread May 2017 1

To be fair Jackie was there providing moral support, as my daughter after the ten-minute journey on the speedboat to our snorkelling location flatly refused to get back onto it. I on the other hand after twenty minutes or so in the sea was flatly refusing to get off it. Neither of us had enjoyed the boat ride and the less said about the actual snorkelling the better.

Our brilliant guide, could see that we needed to get back to land. However, he was stuck between a rock and a hard place, as my other sister and her son were blissfully scuba diving beneath us.

He had no choice but to hail a passing boat and ask the owner to take the three of us back.

As it was not practically possible for our kind ‘rescuer’ to take us right up to the beach, the three of us had to wade the last few metres towards land.

My daughter, and sister Jackie weren’t too bad and were ‘more or less’ okay, by the time they reached the beach. I, on the other hand was still not so good and was far more shaken up than I realised. So much so that I didn’t notice, that I was being whistled and waved at by one of the holiday makers on the beach.

In my rather dazed state it took me a while to notice the woman, waving her camera at me and summoning me to take her picture.

With water, mucous and everything else streaming from my eyes and nose, I did manage to take a few snaps with the camera on her phone. As I then attempted to hand her camera back, she gestured ‘no, no’ as she wanted a few more shots of herself ‘posing’ by the sea edge and I just continued snapping away.

I doubt very much that they came out particularly well, but not sure I really care.

But it makes me laugh, that this woman who appeared to be completely oblivious to my state, was so focused on getting a few snaps of herself. Of all the people on the beach to ask, why me?

Still, she did say thank you, and seemed pleased with the results, but of all the things I would think to do as I watched someone emerging traumatised from the sea, asking them to take a holiday snap is not one of them.

So there you have it, until next time.

Pittabread

www.blue-sky-career-consulting.co.uk

Leave a Reply

