My big ‘Bad Education’ ……..

Who are the teachers that you really remember from your school days, the good, the bad and the sometimes indifferent?

This is the question I asked myself, after recently watching the very final episode of the superb ‘Bad Education’, with Jack Whitehall and the rest of the amazing cast of teachers and school children.

pittabread-feb-3-2017

So, from my days at primary school, I remember Miss S, who so effectively taught me to read – once it had been discovered, that I’d somehow reached junior school age without being able to read properly.

However, once the school realised, there was no ‘messing about’, I was ‘yanked out’ of classes and placed with Miss S – until it was sorted. I cannot remember how long it took – but thank God, it was rectified before I left Junior school.

Must admit I don’t remember much warmth and empathy from Miss S, but I thank her for teaching me to read properly and using the time effectively to get me up to speed.

pittabread-feb-2-2017

Jumping forward now to secondary school, the next teacher I distinctly remember is my ‘O’ Level maths teacher, Mr H.

Particularly the day, that our tall rather ‘gangly’ looking Mr H, suddenly disappeared from view as he slipped and fell.

I can recall, the shocked silence, and then his good-natured response to the one person who could not contain her mirth and whose laughter was the first to burst forth. Namely, me.

Who else remembers science lessons, where you were allowed and encouraged to use equipment, such as Bunsen burners? I remember watching enthralled as a piece of sodium or maybe it was potassium ‘fizzed’ around in a bucket of water.

pittabread-feb-1-2017

Moving forward a few years, I remember Dr P. – our ‘A’ Level physics teacher, we all had a bit of a crush on him and were a bit in ‘awe’. I also remember his ‘THINK’ scrawled in big red letters across one of my early assignments. Clearly I wasn’t, thinking at that time.

Still Dr P. – got me successfully through an A ‘level syllabus, as did Dr G my chemistry teacher.

Not without some controversy mind, as I also remember ‘storming’ out of one of Dr G’s ‘chemistry’ tutorials.  He is the one teacher – I’d quite like to go back to and ‘wave’ or perhaps more truthfully, ‘shove’ my subsequent qualifications, up ‘where the sun doesn’t shine’.

It may well take a few more years, before I can emulate Elsa, from Frozen and ‘Let that one go’. I’m not bitter ;).

But that’s a whole other story.

So, who are the teachers you remember, with love and respect or maybe otherwise?

Until next time

Pittabread

www.blueskycareerconsulting.co.uk

 

Leave a Reply

